Child Restraint Laws:
For child safety laws, scroll down to the bottom of this page

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications
Prevent Child Heatstroke in Cars



Heatstroke is the leading cause of vehicular non-crash-related deaths for children under 14. In fact, each year, an average of 37 children have died from vehicle heatstroke between 1998-2015.

While it seems like an impossible mistake to make, every parent or caregiver can potentially become distracted, and distractions often fuel this devastating situation.

No one is immune. Yet, this tragedy is 100% preventable.

We each have a role to play to help keep our kids safe. Help us share live-saving tips and resources with as many people as we can.

arrow-10x10 Click here to get your Heatstroke Prevention Toolkit (English/Spanish).
arrow-10x10 Click here for additional traffic safety marketing campaign materials.

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications
Study: More Kids Left Unrestrained in Cars

A disturbing downward trend in appropriate child-restraint use by U.S. motorists could threaten to undermine major progress since 2000 in preventing deaths of young children.

Proper use of child restraints in vehicles declined in several categories from 2013 to 2015, reports the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

"Risking the safety of future generations by letting children ride unrestrained is not acceptable," U.S. Transportation Secretary Anthony Foxx said in a statement. "Seat belts and car seats save lives, and need to be used on every trip."

Click Here to Read More

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications

Don't Just Stand There, Save That Child!!!
USDOT: Every summer, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) engages the public about the dangers of leaving children are unattended in hot vehicles. And sadly every year, these tragedies continue to happen. Already in 2016, sixteen children have lost their lives, adding to the total of 676 heatstroke deaths since 1998.

Read More Here

                                                
H1

Every 10 days, vehicular heatstroke kills a child in the United States. Every 10 days, a parent loses a child to a preventable death. Since 1998, there have been 687 deaths, 26 of which happened this year. It's time to stop vehicular heatstroke from killing our children. The time to take action is now


Click Here to View our NHTSA page
@SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notification

Consumer Reports Evaluates New Technology Designed to Prevent Hot Car Deaths

(WSFA/CONSUMER REPORTS) - Parents and caregivers can't imagine they could accidentally forget a child in their car, yet almost 40 children die of heatstroke inside vehicles each year. There is new technology designed to prevent such tragedies, and Consumer Reports just evaluated it.

Consumer Reports evaluated new technology built into an Evenflo infant seat that may help. SensorSafe is designed to chime as soon as the car is turned off if a child is still buckled in the seat.


                                   

Read More Here


See Twitter: #SafeHomeAL

Traffic Safety Facts on Children
NHTSA: Of the 32,675 motor vehicle traffic fatalities in 2014 in the United States, 1,070 (3%) were children 14 and younger.



Click Here For More Facts

See Twitter: #SafeHomeAL
Take Proactive Steps in Preventing Child Heatstroke in Hot Vehicles
NBC News: So far this year, at least 16 children have reportedly died from heatstroke after being left in hot cars by their caregivers — more than double the number who perished by this time last year. Could New Technology Help Prevent Hot Car Deaths?

infographic showing that temperature inside a vehicle rises 20 degrees in 10 minutes

Read More Here

See Twitter: #SafeHomeAL
Child Restraint Regulations

Child Restraint Regulations

Set Forth Guidelines for Infant-only, Forward-facing, and Booster Seats

Act 2006-623

Effective July 1, 2006

ENROLLED, An Act,

To amend Section 32-5-222 of the Code of Alabama 1975, relating to child passenger restraints, to further provide for the use of child passenger restraints; to increase the fine; to provide for a point system; to provide for dismissal of charges upon proof of acquisition of an appropriate child passenger restraint; to provide for $15 to be deposited in the State Treasury to be disbursed by the State Comptroller to the Alabama Head Injury Foundation to administer; to subject the foundation to examination by the Department of Examiners of Public Accounts; and in connection therewith would have as its purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of local funds within the meaning of Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

Section 1. Section 32-5-222 of the Code of Alabama 1975, is amended to read as follows:

§32-5-222.

(a) Every person transporting a child in a motor vehicle operated on the roadways, streets, or highways of this state, shall provide for the protection of the child by properly using an aftermarket or integrated child passenger restraint system meeting applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards and the requirements of subsection (b). This section shall not be interpreted to release in part or in whole the responsibility of an automobile manufacturer to insure the safety of children to a level at least equivalent to existing federal safety standards for adults. In no event shall failure to wear a child passenger restraint system be considered as contributory negligence. The term "motor vehicle" as used in this section shall include a passenger car, pickup truck, van (seating capacity of 10 or less), minivan, or sports utility vehicle.

(b) The size appropriate restraint system required for a child in subsection (a) shall include all of the following:

(1) Infant only seats and convertible seats used in the rear facing position for infants until at least one year of age or 20 pounds.

(2) Convertible seats in the forward position or forward facing seats until the child is at least five years of age or 40 pounds.

(3) Booster seats until the child is six years of age.

(4) Seat belts until 15 years of age.

However this bill must meet the requirements of Code Section 32-5b-4.