Unifying Alabama's Traffic Safety Efforts
     Working Together to Save Lives    
 
Child Safety Seats


Click Here for the General Children Safety Page

One of the most important jobs you have as a parent is keeping your child safe when riding in a vehicle. Each year thousands of young children are killed or injured in car crashes. Proper use of car safety seats helps keep children safe. But with so many different car safety seats on the market, it's no wonder many parents find this overwhelming.

The type of seat your child needs depends on several things including your child's size and the type of vehicle you have. To be sure your child is using the most appropriate seat, read on.

To see a list of car safety seats and safety seat manufacturers, Click Here
Summary of Alabama's Child Restraint Law
Four Requirements for Any Child Riding in Motor Vehicles:
1. Rear-Facing Only Seats and Rear-Facing Convertible Seats (Infants/Toddlers)
2. Convertible Seats and Forward-Facing Seats with Harness (Toddler/Preschoolers)
3. Booster Seats (School-Aged Children)
4. Seat Belts (Older Children)

Click Here to Read More

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications

Alabama Child Restraint Law
SECTION 32-5-222 OF THE ALABAMA CODE
  • At least 1 yr or 20 lbs. - rear facing infant or rear facing convertible seat
  • At least 5 yrs or 40 lbs. – forward facing convertible or forward facing carseat
  • Until age 6 - booster seat
  • Until age 15 years - seat belt
  • $25 with no court costs. (May differ locally)
  • One Point against license, two points per each repeat offense.
  • Charges dismissed upon proof of acquisition of seat. (May differ locally)
A portion of the fine to be used to provide vouchers for child restraints to low income families.

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications

43% Of Children Who Died From Car Crashes Were Improperly Restrained
NPR: 43% of children who were in a car crash where someone died were not buckled in properly or were not wearing a seat belt at all.

And child fatality rates in deadly car crashes vary widely by state.


The results add evidence to the argument that state regulations and public information tactics can affect motor vehicle safety for kids. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has noted that, for example, seat belt use across all age groups is higher in states with more stringent seat belt enforcement laws.


Click Here to Read More


Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications

Alabama's Child Passenger Safety Resource
Cpsalabama.org is an excellent resource for child passenger safety information for the state of Alabama. The site's interactive tools allow users to obtain local contact information for CPS coordinators.

Click Here for more information and resources on child passenger safety in the State of Alabama.

Follow @SafeHomeAlabama for all SHA Update notifications