Unifying Alabama's Traffic Safety Efforts
Working Together to Save Lives
National Safety Council
Alabama Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor (ATSRP)
USDOT Volpe Center
AU & AL T-2 (Auburn)
Senior Driver Issues
Young Driver Issues
Cell Phone Blocking
Ebola and Transportation
Education and Training
K - 9 Child Safety
Safe Routes to School
Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
Click It or Ticket
TACT DPS Programs
General Traffic Safety
Child Safety Seats
Large Truck and CMVs
School Bus Studies
Plans & Analysis
AL Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP)
FARS and AL Fatalities
Non-Traffic Crash Stats
State Data Links
Since 1938, ATA has provided a unified voice for trucking operations by supporting favorable laws, rules and regulations and by operations by supporting favorable laws, rules and regulations and by opposing those that are harmful or detrimental to Alabama trucking. ATA has worked tirelessly to make the industry safer through advocacy and training.
ATA makes sure members and the public are informed about the most recent changes and events affecting trucking. As a member of ATA, you'll receive their eNewsletter, their award-winning Alabama Trucker magazine, regular legislative bulletins, and special information briefs (safety and regulatory updates, etc.).
By taking part or attending the Association's Annual Convention and other meetings and conferences, members can network with those who share common interests and concerns about trucking.
For more information, visit
Large Trucks and CMVs Page
Visitors of this page may also be interested in the
Large Trucks and CMVs Page
Alabama Updates Commercial Learner's Permit Procedures
ATA Newsroom: Alabama is updating its commercial learner’s permit (CLP) to comply with recent Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration regulation. In the coming days, the state will start issuing a separate document for the CLP that is valid for 180 days, but applicants can renew it one time for an additional 180 days without retaking the knowledge tests.
Alabama currently upgrades a person’s base license to a commercial learner’s permit. However, the applicant will keep their base license and will receive a second document: a commercial learner’s license. Both documents will display the same driver’s license number, and therefore only require one record in the state database system.
According to Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) officials, CDL applicants keep their base license. They will be issued a separate CLP for the class/endorsement the person wishes to obtain. The CLP will have the same driver’s license number and will be in the same format as a base license. They must have their base license in their possession when driving the commercial motor vehicle that requires a CDL. They must also have a proper licensed CDL holder in the front seat (same as always).
to Read More Changes
for all SHA Update notifications