A Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) is a data-driven, multiyear comprehensive plan that establishes a state’s traffic safety goals, objectives, priorities, and areas of focus, and facilitates engagement with safety stakeholders and partners.

The Alabama SHSP 3rd Edition was developed by the Alabama Department of Transportation (AL DOT) in a cooperative process with local, state, federal, and other public and private stakeholders.

The SHSP provides a comprehensive framework for reducing fatalities and serious injuries on all public roads, with the ultimate vision of eradicating the State’s roadway deaths. The strategies detailed in the plan integrate the efforts of partners and safety stakeholders from the 4 Es of safety: engineering, education, enforcement, and emergency medical services.

General Information

The state of Alabama is divided into four (4) SHSP Regions: TARCOG, Birmingham, Lee-Russell, and Alabama-Tombigbee.

ALDOT and the University of Alabama have teamed up to update the Alabama Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSHP). As the statewide plan is updated, individual plans for various regions around the state are being developed. Citizens that live and work in the region are encouraged to participate in the regional plan to help identify area safety concerns.

Contact to participate

Who Should Participate

  • Engineers
  • Planners
  • Safety Practitioners
  • State & Local Police
  • Emergency Responders

  • Health Care Workers
  • Educators
  • Behavioral Scientists
  • Concerned Citizens

Participation Benefits

  • Increased public support for safety
  • Access to data and expertise for local agencies
  • Potential funding eligibility
  • Building community safety awareness and capacity
  • Networking with other concerned individuals and organizations

TARCOG Region Dekalb, Jackson, Limestone, Madison, and Marshall Counties

Visit Site

General Information

Meeting Summaries & Presentations

Birmingham Region Blount, Chilton, Jefferson, St. Clair, Shelby, and Walker Counties

Visit Site

Action Plans

General Information

Meeting Summaries & Presentations

Lee-Russell Safety Coalition (LRCOG) Lee and Russell Counties

Visit Site | Take the Survey

Meeting Sumaries & Presentations

Alabama Tombigbee Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Marengo, Monrroe, Perry, Sumter, Washington, & Counties

Visit Site

Workshop Agenda | 24 January