Tag: Legislation

  • July 11th, 2023

Several pieces of legislation have expanded DOT’s authority to combat human trafficking. These include expanding grant programs, requiring air carriers to train certain personnel, tracking air carrier training and tips, establishing the multimodal advisory committee, preparing a triennial advisory committee recommendations and best practices report, instituting a lifetime ban on Commercial Driver’s License holders who […]

  • June 5th, 2019

Alabama lawmakers have given final approval to a bill requiring back seat passengers in vehicles to wear seat belts. Alabama’s seat belt law currently applies only to front seat passengers. The House of Representatives this morning approved the bill by Sen. David Burkette, D-Montgomery, requiring all passengers to wear seat belts. The bill says failure […]

  • December 12th, 2018

Enacted Bills: Driving Under the Influence, Ignition Interlock Devices (SB1): An act, relating to persons charged with driving under the influence; to amend Section 32-5A-191 and Section 32-5A-191.4, Code of Alabama 1975, to further require and provide for the use of ignition interlock devices; to provide for the distribution of court fees certain conditions; to […]

  • March 2nd, 2018

Roadway Safety Institute: The roadway safety policy and leadership study built on previous review of evidence-based policy countermeasures for reducing road fatalities and serious injuries – and how legislators and policy leaders are addressing these issues through adoption of certain evidence-based policy countermeasures. The research is premised on the anticipated correlation of policy countermeasure adoption […]

  • February 1st, 2018

SECTION 32-5-222 OF THE ALABAMA CODE At least 1 yr or 20 lbs. – rear facing infant or rear facing convertible seat At least 5 yrs or 40 lbs. – forward facing convertible or forward facing car seat Until age 6 – booster seat Until age 15 years – seat belt $25 with no court […]

  • March 2nd, 2017

Deadly encounters between police officers and motorists have lawmakers across the country thinking driver’s education should require students to be taught what to do in a traffic stop. A North Carolina bill would require instructors to describe “appropriate interactions with law enforcement officers.” Illinois passed a similar law recently, and another awaits the Virginia governor’s […]

  • May 6th, 2016

On July 6, 2012, the President signed into law the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21) (P.L. 112- 141), which created a Special Rule for Older Drivers and Pedestrians. The Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act (P.L. 114-94) continued that Special Rule. The purpose of this guidance is to clarify: The […]